Aggrey Memorial Mount Zion School were crowned 2016 Sprite Ball Champions in the girls’ division after beating Accra Wesley Girls’ High School 9-8.

The ladies from the Cape-Coast based school had to fight hard for the victory as Accra Wesley Girls took a 6-2 lead after the first half.

Aggrey Memorial, making a record fifth straight final appearance rallied late in the game as key players Joana Danso and Juliana Cudjoe scored crucial baskets to complete a remarkable comeback.

The win ends Aggrey Memorial’s losing streak in the finals after suffering consecutive losses in past editions of the tournament.

Accra Wesley Girls’, appearing in the tournament for the first time, had playmaker Ruth Atibila being voted Fans Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

Two-time and defending champions T.I. Ahmadiyya Senior High School took the bronze medal in the all Kumasi battle ahead of debutants Kumasi Girls High School.